Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project L.A. County Action Fund, Dozens of Women Leaders Endorse Councilmember David Ryu

LOS ANGELES, CA -- A day after announcing the endorsement of several grassroots Democratic organizations, today Councilmember David Ryu announced that he has received the endorsement of the Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project Los Angeles County Action Fund. 

“I was raised by strong women who shaped my worldview and made me the person I am today,” said Councilmember Ryu. “I am so proud to have the endorsement of the Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project Los Angeles County Action Fund. On a national level, Planned Parenthood and its supporters are on the front lines, fighting for women’s fundamental reproductive rights. Locally, its membership is working to make Los Angeles a City centered on social justice and supporting women from all walks of life. I am proud to have the Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project L.A. County Action Fund by my side as we continue to move Los Angeles forward.”

Alongside the Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project Los Angeles County Action Fund, Councilmember Ryu also announced the endorsement of several prominent Los Angeles women leaders. A selection of these leaders includes:  

  • United States Congressmember Karen Bass

  • United States Congressmember Judy Chu 

  • Los Angeles City Controller Wendy Greuel (ret.)

  • Los Angeles City Council President-Elect Nury Martinez

  • Los Angeles City Councilwoman Monica Rodriguez 

  • West Hollywood Mayor and Councilmember Abbe Land (ret.)

  • West Hollywood Mayor Pro Tempore Lindsey Horvath

  • Bobbie Jean Anderson: Former Vice Chair, Los Angeles County Democratic Party*

  • Mary Ellen Early: President, Action Democrats of the San Fernando Valley & Member, Democratic National Committee* 

  • Lorri L. Jean: Chief Executive Officer, Los Angeles LGBT Center* 

  • Renee Nahum: First Vice President, East Area Progressive Democrats* 

  • Cara Robin: President, West LA Democratic Club & Co-Chair, Westside Democratic HQ*

  • Jimmie Woods-Grey: Former Chair, Los Angeles County Democratic Party* 


A partial list of women elected and community leaders who have already endorsed Councilmember Ryu includes: 

  • State Senator Maria Elena Durazo

  • State Senator Holly Mitchell

  • State Assemblymember Autumn Burke

  • State Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo

  • State Assemblymember Laura Friedman

  • State Assemblymember Sydney Kamlager-Dove

  • State Assemblymember Luz Rivas

  • State Assemblymember Christy Smith

  • Los Angeles County Supervisor Janice Hahn

  • Los Angeles County Supervisor Hilda Solis

  • Los Angeles County District Attorney Jackie Lacey

  • Los Angeles County Supervisor Yvonne Burke (ret.) 

  • Los Angeles County Supervisor Gloria Molina (ret.) 

  • Jill Banks Barad: Founder and Chair, Valley Alliance of Neighborhood Councils*

  • Joni Byun: Commissioner, Santa Monica Commission on the Status of Women*

  • Cindy Chvatal-Keane: President, Hancock Park Homeowners Association*

  • Heather Duffy Boylston: Co-Executive Director, Larchmont Village Business Improvement District*

  • Leslie Elkan: President, Sherman Oaks Business Improvement District*

  • Ellen Evans: President, Doheny Sunset Plaza Neighborhood Association*

  • Robin Greenberg: President, Bel Air-Beverly Crest Neighborhood Council*

  • Amy Gustincic: President, Los Feliz Improvement Association*

  • Dr. Laura Jeon: President, Korean American Federation of Los Angeles*

  • Anne-Marie Johnson: Immediate Past President, Silverlake Neighborhood Council*

  • Caroline Labiner Moser: President, Greater Wilshire Neighborhood Council*

  • Mary Leslie: President, Los Angeles Business Council*

  • Anastasia Mann: President, Hollywood Hills West Neighborhood Council*

  • Krista Michaels: President, Cahuenga Pass Property Owners Association*

  • Francine Oschin: Board Member, League of Women Voters Los Angeles*

  • Sylvia Patsaouras: President, City of Los Angeles Recreation and Parks Commission*

  • Robyn Ritter Simon: RRS Political Strategies / Former President, National Women’s Political Caucus, LA Westside*

  • Tammy Scher: Board Chair, Sherman Oaks Chamber of Commerce*

  • Professor Sharon Sekhon: Founder & Executive Director, The Studio for Southern California History*

  • Jerilyn Stapleton: President Emeritus, California NOW (National Organization for Women)*

  • Susan Swan: Former President, Hollywood United Neighborhood Council*

  • Cathy Unger: Past Chair and Board Member, Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project Los Angeles County Action Fund*

  • Maryam Zar: Commissioner, City of Los Angeles Commission on the Status of Women*


The announcement of these endorsements comes amid strong momentum in Councilmember Ryu’s re-election bid. To-date, Councilmember Ryu, has announced endorsements from 200 grassroots community leadersa dozen local Democratic organizationsLos Angeles Mayor Eric Garcettistate legislatorsCounty elected officials and local labor unions. A full list of his endorsements can be found here.  

Yesterday, Councilmember Ryu rolled out his second digital ad in his re-election bid.

Titled "Progressive” the ad can be viewed by clicking here or on the link below:








Constituents are invited to stay up to date by following Councilmember Ryu’s Facebook Page here and Twitter feed here.

*Titles for Identification Purposes Only 


Los Angeles City Councilmember David E. Ryu represents the 4th Council District which includes Griffith Park, Sherman Oaks, Toluca Lake, Hollywood, Hollywood Hills, Los Feliz, Silver Lake, Miracle Mile, Hancock Park, Windsor Square, Larchmont and portions of Koreatown and Van Nuys. 

Paid for by David Ryu for City Council 2020 General 

777 S. Figueroa Street, Suite 4050

Los Angeles, CA 90017

Additional information is available at